Danger sign IFL Rookie of the Year

The Nebraska Danger Indoor Professional Football Team has added two new players and re-signed two returning players to their roster for the 2014 season. Danger Head Coach Mike Davis is pleased to announce the signing of new additions Cody Kirby and Emory Addison, and returners Kane Elenburg and Deivon Tate.

"We are excited to be able to bring these four guys into camp," Davis said. "Obviously, Kane and Deivon were a key part of our team last year. Cody is a guy who has already proved himself in this league, so we are really happy to have all four of these guys with us."

Kirby, who played collegiately at Missouri State, was named IFL Rookie of the Year last season while playing quarterback for the Chicago Slaughter. He threw for 1,993 yards and 39 touchdowns to go with just six interceptions for the Slaughter, who finished 9-5, but did not advance to the playoffs. He also ran for 388 yards and 13 scores.

Elenburg, a Hastings College product, was fifth on the Danger defense last season with 45 tackles. He recorded three interceptions, returning one for a touchdown and added a fumble recovery for a touchdown as well. Tate, who signed late in the season, recorded 20 tackles in the final four games of the regular season. He added 15 tackles and an interception during the playoffs.

"In this league to have guys who have played together on defense can give you a big advantage," Davis said. "Bringing back both Kane and Deivon is big for us on that side of the football."

Addison will compete for playing time in the Danger's talented receiving corp. A Miami, FL native, Addison played collegiately at Division II St. Paul's College (VA) and was a member of the CIAA all-rookie team in 2005.

In addition, the Danger, named the 2013 IFL Franchise of the Year following their 2013 run to the United Bowl, announced that they will begin the 2014 season on Monday, February 10 with a home-opener game versus the Lincoln Haymakers. Kickoff is set for 7 pm at the Heartland Events Center in Grand Island.

A special thank-you to our Partners